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December 22, 2003 
Contact:  John Reymundo 
           Planning & Research Bureau  
    (510) 272-6752 
 

For Immediate Release 
 

New Court Fees, Fee Increases 
Effective January 1, 2004 

 
 
(Oakland)—The Superior Court of California, County of Alameda announces new court 
filing fees and fee increases, as the result of Assembly Bill 296 (approved by the Governor 
on October 10, 2003) and Senate Bill 1732 (statutes of 2002-2003). 
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Fees charged and collected by California’s trial courts are composed of base statewide 
fees and surcharges and applicable local fees.  A list of the Alameda County fees that are 
impacted by these changes is attached to this press release.  This list can also be obtained 
from the clerk’s office in Alameda County court facilities or by visiting the Superior 
Court’s web site at www.co.alameda.ca.us/courts.  A complete chart of statewide fees 
and surcharges is available on the California Courts web site at www.courtinfo.ca.gov.   



 

 
 

Superior Court of California 
County of Alameda 

 
NOTICE OF FEE INCREASES 

(Effective 1-1-2004) 
 
Assembly Bill 296 revised fees and established the additional security surcharge on 
specified civil cases.  SB 1732 established surcharges that are deposited into the State 
Court Facilities Construction Fund.  The surcharges are increased from $10 to $15 for 
certain unlimited jurisdiction civil, probate, and family law actions.  Please find the 
impact of AB 296 and SB 1732 on our local fees below. 
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Ref # Type of Filing Current Fee Revised Fee
 UNLIMITED CIVIL FILING FEES   

1. 
 

Complaint, petition, or other first paper including 
transfer from another court 
 
 

$276.50 + 25.00 
for each add’l 

Plaintiff 
 

$286.50 + $25.00 
one-time court 

reporter fee 
 

2. Petition for Injunction Prohibiting Harassment (no 
allegations of violence) 
 

$276.50 + 25.00 
for each add’l 

Plaintiff 
 

$286.50 + $25.00 
one-time court 

reporter fee 
 

3. Appeal on Labor Commissioner Award $276.50 + 25.00 
for each add’l 

Plaintiff 
 

$286.50 + $25.00 
one-time court 

reporter fee 
 

4. First paper on behalf of EACH defendant, intervenor, 
respondent, or adverse party whether appearing 
separately or jointly 
 

$273.20 
(includes $25.00 

one-time court 
reporter fee) 

$283.20 + $25.00 
one-time court 

reporter fee 

 FAMILY LAW FILING FEES   

5. Petition for Dissolution, Nullity, Legal Separation, or 
Paternity   
 

$276.50 + 25.00 
for each add’l 

Plaintiff 
 

$286.50 + $25.00 
one-time court 

reporter fee 
 

6. Joint verified petition for Summary Dissolution   
 

$301.50 
(includes $50.00 

one-time court 
reporter fee) 

$286.50 + $50.00 
one-time court 

reporter fee 
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Ref # Type of Filing Current Fee Revised Fee

 FAMILY LAW FILING FEES (CONTINUED)   

7. First paper on behalf of respondent 
 

$273.20 
(includes $25.00 

one-time court 
reporter fee) 

$283.20 + $25.00 
one-time court 

reporter fee 

 
COMPLEX LITIGATION FILING FEES

  

8. Complex Case fee authorized by GC § 26826.4(f) is to be 
collected from those who have not paid the fee in each case 
the court determines to be complex.  All parties who have 
not paid the fee shall pay the fee to the clerk within 10 
calendar days of the filing of the court’s order.  The total 
complex fees collected from either side shall not exceed 
$10,000 excluding fee surcharges. 
 

$550.00 as to 
each party 

$550.00 
 

9. Filing FIRST PAPER in a CIVIL action by a plaintiff 
requesting or pre-designating a case as a complex case as 
specified in the California Rules of Court: 
 
Unlimited (more than $25K)   
1st Paper fee per line item #1 + $550.00 per line item #8 
 
 
Limited (more than $10K to $25K) 
1st Paper fee per line item #15a + $550.00 per line item #8 
 
 
Limited ($10K or less) 
1st Paper fee per line item #16a + $550.00 per line item #8 
 

 
 
 
 

$826.50 + 25.00 
for each add’l 

Plaintiff 
 

$826.50 + 25.00 
for each add’l 

Plaintiff 
 

$689.30 

 
 
 
 

$836.50+ $25.00 
one-time court 

reporter fee 
 

$839.50 + $ 25.00 
one-time court 

reporter fee 
 

$717.30 
 
 

10. FIRST PAPER on behalf of EACH defendant, intervenor, 
respondent, or adverse party appearing that requests or 
opposes designation of a case as a complex case 
 
Unlimited (more than $25K)   
1st Paper fee per line item #4 + $550.00 per line item #8 
 
 
 
 
Limited (more than $10K to $25K) 
1st Paper fee per line item #17 + $550.00 per line item #8 
 
 
 
Limited ($10K or less) 
1st Paper fee per line item #18 + $550.00 per line item #8 

 
 
 
 

$823.20 
(includes $25.00 

one-time court 
reporter fee) 

 
 

$$826.50 
(includes $25.00 

one-time court 
reporter fee) 

 
$686.00 

 
 
 
 

$833.20 + $25.00 
one-time court 

reporter fee 
 
 
 

$839.50 + $25.00 
one-time court 

reporter fee 
 
 

$714.00 

 
PROBATE FILING FEES

  

11. FIRST petition for letters of guardianship or letters of 
conservatorship, special letters of administration without 
the powers of a general personal representative, petition 
for compromise of minor’s claim, petition pursuant to 
ProbC §§ 13151 or 13650, petition to contest any will or 
codicil 

$251.50 $286.50 
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Ref # Type of Filing Current Fee Revised Fee

 
PROBATE FILING FEES (CONTINUED)

  

12. (Decedent’s Estate)  FIRST petition for letters of 
administration or letters testamentary, special letters with 
the powers of a general personal representative pursuant to 
ProbC § 8545, first account of testamentary trustee when 
the estimated value of estate at the time   of filing is: 
 

Less than $250k 

$250k to less than $500k 

$500k to less than $750k 

$750k to less than $1Million 

$1M to less than 1.5M 

$1.5M to less than $2M 

$2M to less than $2.5M 

$2.5M to less than $3.5M 

$3.5M or more 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 

$251.50 

$323.00 

$433.00 

$598.00 

$1,148.00 

$2,248.00 

$2,798.00 

$3,898.00 

$3,898.00 + 
0.2% of amount 

over $3.5M 

 
 
 
 
 
 

$286.50 

$358.00 

$468.00 

$633.00 

$1,183.00 

$2,283.00 

$2,833.00 

$3,933.00 

$3,933.00 + 0.2% 
of amount over 

$3.5M 
 

13. SECOND or subsequent petition of a type described in 
item numbers 33 and 34 above in the same proceeding by 
a person other than the original petitioner (No fee for 
original petitioner) 
 

$251.50 $286.50 

14. FIRST paper on behalf of adverse party or party other 
than original petitioner 

$248.20 
 

$283.20 

 
LIMITED CIVIL FILING FEES

  

15a. Complaint, petition, or other first paper including 
transfer from another court where the demand is more 
than $10,000 up to $25,000 stated on face on complaint  
 

$276.50 
(includes $25.00 

one-time court 
reporter fee) 

 

$289.50 + $25.00 
one-time court 

reporter fee 

15b. Unlawful Detainer where the demand is more than 
$10,000 up to $25,000 stated on face on complaint   
 

$280.50 + 
$25.00 for each 

add’l Plaintiff 

$293.50 + $25.00 
one-time court 

reporter fee 
 

16a. Complaint, petition, or other first paper including 
transfer from another court where the demand is 
$10,000 or less stated on face on complaint   
  

$139.30 $167.30 

16b. Unlawful Detainer where the demand is $10,000 or less 
stated on face on complaint   
 

$143.30 $171.30 

 FIRST paper on behalf of EACH defendant, intervenor, 
respondent, or adverse party whether appearing 
separately or jointly in response to a complaint with a 
demand of more than $10,000 up to $25,000 

$276.50 
(includes $25.00 

one-time court 
reporter fee) 

 
 
 

$289.50 + $25.00 
one-time court 

reporter fee 
 



Ref # Type of Filing Current Fee Revised Fee

 
LIMITED CIVIL FILING FEES (CONTINUED)

  

17. FIRST paper on behalf of EACH defendant, intervenor, 
respondent, or adverse party whether appearing 
separately or jointly in response to a complaint with a 
demand of $10,000 or less 
 

$136.00 $164.00 

 MISCELLANEOUS AND OTHER FILING FEES - CRIMINAL
19a. FIRST paper fee in a criminal action on a motion to set 

aside Bail Forfeiture / Motion To Set Aside Summary 
Judgment if the amount of the bail bond is more than 
$25,000:  
 

$273.20 + 
motion fee 

(includes $25.00 
one-time court 

reporter fee) 
 

$283.20 + $25.00 
one-time court 
reporter fee + 

motion fee 
 

19b. FIRST paper fee in a criminal action on a motion to set 
aside Bail Forfeiture / Motion To Set Aside Summary 
Judgment if the amount of the bail bond is more than 
$10,000 up to $25,000:  
 

$276.50 + 
motion fee  

(includes $25.00 
one-time court 

reporter fee) 
 

$289.50 + $25.00 
one-time court 
reporter fee + 

motion fee 

19c. FIRST paper fee in a criminal action on a motion to set 
aside Bail Forfeiture / Motion To Set Aside Summary 
Judgment if the amount of the bail bond is $10,000 or 
less: 

$136.00 + 
motion fee 

$164.00 + motion 
fee 
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